snapshots of mexico, literal and figurative


La Fondesa (thank you, David Lida)
February 10, 2009, 9:51 pm
Filed under: Photo, Short | Tags: , ,
Mmmm salty octopus...

Outdoor restaurant seating in La Condesa

Earlier this week I read David Lida’s First Stop in the New World,  loaned to me by a friend.  The experience was enjoyable, yet maddening, because the book is effectively a 300 page expansion of the concept for my blog–a collection of short pieces highlighting the random details that make up Mexico City from an immersed outsider’s perspective.  Not only were the general ideas and overall content strikingly similar, but even many of the specifics were the same, all the way down to a mention of the shop full of crazed mannequins on Insurgentes (of which I posted a picture just last week!).  I’ll have to content myself with the fact that, unlike the book, my blog photos…

In any case, I highly recommend the book if you have an interest in Mexico City (that isn’t fulfilled by this blog).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

